The Jeans Dilemma

September 22, 2011 at 4:14 pm (regular) ()

I’ve been going back and forth on whether or not I want to sew a pair of jeans.  Because I overanalyze everything, here’s what I’ve been thinking:

  1. None of the jeans patterns really jump out at me.  For pretty much every item on the Tim Gunn list I’ve found a pattern that I just have to make, and in most cases, I found multiple.
  2. I would probably never wear jeans I made myself thinking the look and quality were sub par to the jeans I have in my closet. 
  3. I already own entirely too many jeans.
  4. I have very few casual pants that aren’t jeans. 

So, the only reason I’d be making jeans would be to say I actually made jeans (and I guess to not deviate from the list?) and honestly, I have no problem leaving the jeans making to the professionals. 

I’d really much rather sew a pair of casual pants like the J.Crew Minnies.  While looking for patterns, I stumbled upon the Collette Pattern’s Clover cigarette pants.  It’s exactly what I’m looking for and conveniently, they are having a Clover Sew Along starting October 4th.  So, while jeans are actually towards the end of my “to do” list, I think I’ll bump up these pants and join in.  I’ve never made pants before and fit is incredibly important when it comes to pants like these so I think there’s no better way to take a first stab at them than during a sew along.

Leave a Reply

