#2 Any Occasion Top

September 24, 2011 at 4:00 pm (regular) (, , )

I decided to take a break from the second version of the pencil skirt.  I caught myself rushing through it just to be done and it was starting to look sloppy.  Sloppy results in past projects is exactly why I decided to do this sew along and do the whole “back to basics” thing. 

Here’s what I did instead:

Pattern & Description: Butterick 5495 Knit Top

Pattern Sizing: I sewed View A in a size 10.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?  Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?  Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? 

I love that the final product looks more complicated than it actually was.  I think this is another confidence builder, especially for a beginner like me!

I agree with previous reviewers that the holes for the loop can be a bit exposing and every time I put on the top, I have to fiddle with the facing.  I’ll have to wear it soon to see how much it all shifts around with daily wear.

Fabric Used:  A rayon blend from Joann’s.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:  I stitched the holes for the loops a little smaller, but that’s it!

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?  I would definitely sew this again.  I think I’d like to sew another one in a solid heather grey.

Conclusion:  Despite the fiddly issues and my serious inexperience sewing knits on a regular sewing machine, the top ended up great. 

Leave a Reply

