New Fabric

October 8, 2011 at 11:52 pm (regular) (, )

My first Fabric Mart purchase arrived on Friday.  Here is what I ordered:

Three jerseys.  The “antique brass” and red pieces are more of a t-shirt type of jersey.  The blue piece has a sheen to it.

I also ordered, from left: floral, linen look jersey; lilac poplin; white with green pinstripes twill; pink paisley brocade; black with yellow stripes rainwear

I also ordered a mystery bundle and this is what I got:

From left:  some sort of pale green lace/crochet type (woven) material; navy blue mystery material; polka dot chiffon; black mystery cotton, possibly lining; light green with white pinstripes mystery (woven) material, possibly just a cotton

I actually like all of it.  I’ll probably dye the lace material black because its currently a grandma-esque pale green and perhaps even the green striped material.  I might spend some time in the fabric store next week checking out the different types of fabric in hopes of ID-ing the mystery fabrics.

Now, I know myself better than to plan, seeing as how I started this blog to make every item on the Tim Gunn Essential Wardrobe and have modified the list or deviated from it soo many times, but I planned a few things anyways.  It helped me justify buying so much.

The blue jersey is actually more of a navy blue, as shown in this picture, and was intended for Vogue 8685.  I didn’t realize it would have any sort of sheen to it so now I’m starting to question whether I still want to pair this fabric with the pattern, but for $1.99/yd ($3 total), it wouldn’t be a total loss if I didn’t like it.

I think this dress is going to look so pretty in this lilac stretch poplin. 

I’m almost done with an entry for the PR Think Pink Contest but this was actually my original plan.  I was going to use this pattern to make shorts out of the Ralph Lauren pink paisley brocade.  I bought a pair of gold brocade shorts from Banana Republic this summer and this fabric made me instantly think of them.  I still plan on making them but since I already have an entry, I might put this off.

1 Comment

  1. Recent Purchases « sea.shell.sew said,

    […] that but I put it back at the last minute.  I already have a bit of a stash accumulated from my Fabric Mart purchase and I just can’t stand to have that much fabric sitting unused.  I think I must be one of […]

Leave a Reply

