Updates

October 12, 2011 at 3:36 pm (regular) (, )

For the most part, I have finished my PR Think Pink Contest entry but I’m holding off on reviewing it because I haven’t decided if I want to make a few little tweaks before I really consider it done.  I’ve put it aside though to try and work my way through the stash I just acquired on Friday.  I must be one of the few people that can’t actually maintain a stash.  It really bothers me to spend money on more fabric when I already have perfectly good fabric sitting at home.  Unfortunately, most of what I received on Friday doesn’t really pair up well with any of my Tim Gunn items.  I think you see where this is going…I’m going to continue deviating from the list.

Currently, I’m working on using the “antique brass” jersey to make the longer sleeved version of Vogue 8511:

In jersey, this dress comes together really quickly.  It’s taking me a bit longer because I’ve taken too many breaks and have more than once sewn the the wrong pieces together.  Like other PR reviewers have noted, the sleeves are big.  In jersey, they’re borderline obnoxious, especially compared to the very close fitting bodice.  Today, I plan on taking in one of the sleeves to see if that’s doable without having to alter the armscye.  If not, the sleeves might have to go altogether.  That wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world since I’d actually prefer to wear this with a black or dark brown cardigan.  I’m not sure the color is the best against my skin but that’s an issue for another post.  I anticipate finishing it tonight, letting it hang overnight and then hemming it tomorrow. 

Up next, I wanted to make Butterick 5559 in the red jersey but I’m worried the jersey will be too lightweight.  Again, I’m not the most experienced sewer and my knowledge of fabrics is lacking, but I thought jerseys were lightweight.  However, Butterick 5559 states it is for “moderate stretch knits only” but then suggests “ponte knits and jersey.”  Ponte knit I understand.  Are there different types of jersey?  It’s probably time I invest in a book on fabrics.

Since I really, really love this dress, I think I’m going to hold off, use the red jersey for something else and buy some ponte knit, once I feel more comfortable buying fabric again of course.

So, I’ll probably make Vogue 8685 I paired with the blue jersey in the last post, instead.

Leave a Reply

