Radio Silence, continued

October 26, 2011 at 5:06 pm (regular) (, , )

I still don’t have any finished projects to show, but I have made some progress.

The mustard dress, Vogue 8511, is still waiting on its hem.  Let’s not talk about it.

I stopped working on the red gabardine pencil skirt, Vogue 8363.  I couldn’t take it anymore.  The fabric shifted constantly, snagged the very first time I sewed it, unraveled like crazy and the loose fibers stuck to everything in sight.  I don’t remember how much it was, maybe $4 or 5?  Not worth it.

I knew I wanted to make multiple pencil skirts from that pattern to fill a gap in my wardrobe, so while at the fabric store picking up fabric for more versions, I decided to just start over with a new, less frustrating red fabric.  In addition to the red, I picked up an army green fabric and a grey with white pinstripes fabric.  The red skirt is so close to being done, the fit is almost spot on, however the thread and zipper I bought for the original skirt is too bright for this fabric.  I’ll have to pick up new ones tonight so I can finally finish something up.

After I realized the zipper wouldn’t work with the skirt, I put it aside and picked up the Sorbetto instead.  In my rushed tiredness, I sewed a right side to a wrong side.  At that point, I decided to call it a night.

I’m hoping to finish up the red skirt and the Sorbetto tonight because in the meantime, I’ve been creating quite the list of “to sew” projects.  Maybe later today I’ll add a list to the side of the blog so it’s easier to access than an old blog posting like the Tim Gunn list.  For now, here is one thing I had in mind:

Burdastyle's Heidi Dress

Some of the versions I saw were really cute, but there are numerous reviews about the fit being much too big.  I think if I can nail the fit on a muslin, I’d make multiple versions of this dress as well.  I already found some fabric I’d love to use for them:

Alexander Henry Fashionista Bone Bling Fabric

Alexander Henry Fashionista Guilded Ikat Fabric

Kaffee Fassett Woven Haze Stripes Cobalt Fabric

Leave a Reply

