December Burda Preview

November 7, 2011 at 9:47 pm (regular) (, , )

For a while, I think Burda’s magazine was getting a lot of negative reviews.  I was just starting to sew so I wasn’t even interested in committing to a magazine subscription.  Once I realized I wasn’t going to quit sewing anytime soon, I still didn’t consider getting a subscription because of those reviews.  However, PR message boards have been bringing the past couple months’ previews to my attention and I’ve actually liked a ton of the patterns!  It’s possible the past couple issues have improved, or maybe I just have completely different taste than those commenting on the message boards.  (If the latter is true, then I’m in the minority and maybe should start worrying about my style??)  Well, I decided to ask for a subscription for Christmas, just 6 months to start.  Even if I bought it for myself, I think the numbers make sense.  In the US, it’s $48 for a 6 month subscription that contains 30-40 patterns per issue (if I remember correctly).  If you buy the patterns off of the website, they’re about $5.40 each.  So if you only make two patterns per issue, you’re ahead!  Considering how many patterns I like in the November and December issues alone, I’d be getting more than my money’s worth.  Here are some of my favorites (I can’t tell you how hard it was not to include every single photo:

Seriously, that was me restraining myself.  I want every.single.pattern.  And did you see all of those jackets?!?!?! I’m beyond excited.  Also, I love her hair.

1 Comment

  1. Recent Purchases « sea.shell.sew said,

    […] had at least 10 patterns picked out but I think it was the night before that I flipped through the Burda previews and decided on subscribing.  That made me lose a lot of interest in most of the patterns.  I ended […]

Leave a Reply

